Most Acclaimed Lecturer

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Most Acclaimed Lecturer Award 2017:

Social Sciences

  • Dr Siddharth Arora Early Career Fellow at Somerville College and the Mathematical Institute and lecturer for the Said Business School
  • Dr Gillian Brooks Postdoctoral Career Development Fellow in Marketing and the Eni Research Associate at the Oxford University Centre for Corporate Reputation
  • Dr Javier Lezaun James Martin Lecturer in Science and Technology Governance and Deputy Director of the Institute for Science, Innovation and Society
  • Dr Simon Quinn Associate Professor and Deputy Director of the Centre for the Study of African Economies
  • Dr Tristen Naylor Departmental Lecturer in Diplomatic Studies at Oxford Department of International Development

Medical Sciences

  • Dr Proochista Ariana Course Director for MSc in International Health and Tropical Medicine
  • Dr Jennifer Carter Lecturer, course leader, and tutor, Nuffield Department of Population Health
  • Dr Paul Dennis Director of Graduate Entry Medicine
  • Dr Rebecca Dragovic Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow, Nuffield Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Dr Eric Ohuma Senior Medical Statistician, Centre for Statistics in Medicine


  • Dr Daron Burrows Associate Professor in Medieval French, Fellow of St Peter’s College
  • Professor Deborah Cameron Rupert Murdoch Professor of Language and Communication, Fellow of Worcester College
  • Dr Kevin Hilliard University Lecturer in German, Fellow of St Peter’s College
  • Dr Lisa Kallet Cawkwell Fellow and Tutor in Ancient History, University College and Associate Professor in Ancient History, Faculty of Classics
  • Dr Lydia Matthews Lecturer in Ancient History, Faculty of Classics and Oriel College

Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences

  • Professor Stephen Blundell Professor of Physics, Clarendon Laboratory
  • Dr Vicky Neale Whitehead Lecturer at the Mathematical Institute and Supernumerary Fellow at Balliol College
  • Professor James Taylor Professor of Decision Science at Said Business School, Fellow of St Cross College
  • Dr Nick Tosca Associate Professor of Sedimentary Geology and Fellow in Earth Sciences at St Peter’s College
  • Professor Amy Zavatsky Reader in Engineering Science and Tutor in Engineering, Fellow of St Edmund Hall

Department for Continuing Education

  • Dr Janet Dickinson History of Early Modern England and Europe for the Department of Continuing Education
  • Dr Heather Falvey Lecturer in Local History for the Department of Continuing Education
  • Dr Nigel Mehdi Departmental Lecturer in Sustainable Urban Development for the Department of Continuing Education

There were a record number of nominations this year, each of a very high standard. Thank you to our student and staff panelists for all the handwork that went into selecting this shortlist. We sincerely appreciate the efforts of each member of staff recognised by your fantastic nominations and will be contacting departmental and college heads to discuss further celebration of the achievements of all nominees. Thank you to all nominated for the enormous improvements you have made to the Oxford student experience.

We have emailed each shortlisted individual, inviting them to attend the awards ceremony on 11 May 2017 from 6.30pm at Oxford Town Hall, where the winner of the Most Acclaimed Lecturer Award will be announced. There will be one winner in each division.

If you are a student, and would like to attend the awards ceremony, please get in contact with us: