Outstanding Graduate Supervisor

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Outstanding Graduate Supervisor award.

Social Sciences

  • Dr. Carlotta Minnella Departmental Lecturer in International Relations, College Lecturer at St. John’s College
  • Dr Diego Sánchez-Ancochea Director of the Latin American Centre; Associate Professor in the Political Economy of Latin America
  • Professor Rebecca Eynon Rebecca Eynon holds a joint academic post between the Oxford Internet Institute (OII) and the Department of Education
  • Professor Pamela Sammons Senior Research Fellow, Jesus College; Professor of Education, Department of Education
  • Professor Zofia Stemplowska Associate Professor of Political Theory, Asa Briggs Fellow, Worcester College


  • Professor Andreas Willi Diebold Professor of Comparative Philology
  • Professor Bettina Lange Associate Professor of Law and Regulation
  • Dr Faisal Devji University Reader in Modern South Asian History
    Director, St Antony’s College Asian Studies Centre
  • Dr Ulrike Roesler Professor of Tibetan and Himalayan Studies
  • Professor Sian Pooley Tutor in Modern British History


  • Professor Amy Zavatsky Reader in Engineering Science and Tutor in Engineering
  • Professor Kayla King Associate Professor in Parasite Biology, Department of Zoology, Tutor in Biology, Christ Church
  • Professor Mark Moloney Professor of Chemistry, Tutor for Welfare at St Peter’s College
  • Professor Andrew Martin IT Fellow, Official Fellow, Professor of Systems Security, Department of Computer Science, Kellogg College
  • Franz Gmeineder D.Phil Student

Medical Science

  • Professor John Parrington Associate Professor in Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology; Fellow of Worcester College
  • Dr Natalie Connor-Robson Postdoctoral Career Development Fellow
  • Dr. Omer Dushek Sir Henry Dale Fellow, University Research Lecturer, Research Fellow of Wolfson College
  • Professor Peter Oliver Associate Professor of Neuroscience
  • Dr Proochista Ariana Course Director for MSc in International Health and Tropical Medicine

Department for Continuing Education

  • Dr Cathy Oakes Director of Studies in the History of Art; Director, MSt in Literature and Arts; Co-Director, Postgraduate Certificate in Historical Studies and MSt in Historical Studies; Co-Director, DPhil in Architectural History
  • Dr Christine Jackson Joint Course Director, Foundation Certificate in History and Postgraduate Certificate in Historical Studies; Director of Graduate Studies
  • Dr Jocelyne Hughes Programme Director in Ecological Survey Techniques
  • Professor Nazila Ghanea Associate Professor in International Human Rights Law
  • Dr. Clare Morgan Director, MSt in Creative Writing, and a Fellow of Kellogg College

There were a record number of nominations this year, each of a very high standard. Thank you to our student and staff panelists for all the handwork that went into selecting this shortlist. We sincerely appreciate the efforts of each member of staff recognised by your fantastic nominations and will be contacting departmental and college heads to discuss further celebration of the achievements of all nominees. Thank you to all nominated for the enormous improvements you have made to the Oxford student experience.

We have emailed each shortlisted individual, inviting them to attend the awards ceremony on 11 May 2017 from 6.30pm at Oxford Town Hall, where the winner of the Most Acclaimed Lecturer Award will be announced. There will be one winner in each division.