Outstanding Tutor

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Outstanding Tutor Award 2017:

Social Sciences

  • Dr George Bitsakakis Director of Studies in Economics at St Benet’s Hall, Blackfriars and St Catherine’s College and Fellow of St Benet’s Hall
  • Olivia Shun-yan Cheung DPhil Candidate in Politics and International Relations, St Antony’s College
  • Dr Amanda Palmer Director of Studies in Human Sciences, Harris Manchester College and Chair of Examiners & Head of the Institute of Human Sciences, and lecturer in Sociology, St Catherine’s College
  • Dr Lorraine Wild Tutor in Geography and Fellow at St Hilda’s College
  • Professor Rebecca Williams Associate Professorship in Law, Pembroke College

Continuing Education

  • Dr Sandie Byrne Associate Professor in English Literature & Creative Writing and Fellow of Kellogg College
  • Dr Janet Dickinson Lecturer in History of Early Modern England and Europe for the Department of Continuing Education
  • Professor Peter Dobson OBE Professor and Director, Begbroke Science Park
  • Dr Nigel Mehdi Departmental Lecturer in Sustainable Urban Development for the Department of Continuing Education
  • Dr Christiane Norenberg Nanotechnology HEIF Manager, Begbroke Science Park

Medical Sciences

  • Dr Maike Glitsch Associate Professor of Biomedical Science and Fellow at St Hilda’s College
  • Dr MaryAnn Noonan Supernumerary Teaching Fellow in Psychology
  • Dr Chris Norbury Coordinator for Admissions and Deputy Director of Pre-clinical Studies, Medical Sciences Division
  • Professor Quentin Sattentau Professor of Immunology, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology and Fellow of Magdalen College
  • Dr Rebekah White Lecturer in Psychology, Christ Church and Pembroke College

Mathematical, Physical, and Life Sciences

  • Dr Quentin Miller Lecturer in Computer Science, Somerville College
  • Dr Vicky Neale Whitehead Lecturer at the Mathematical Institute and Supernumerary Fellow at Balliol College
  • Professor Nathalie Seddon Director of Biodiversity Institute and Tutorial Fellow in Biology, Wadham College
  • Dr Adrianne Slyz Tutorial Fellow & Associate Professor, New College and Department of Physics
  • Dr James (Jim) Thomson Fellow by Special Election & Director of Studies for Organic Chemistry, St. Catherine’s College, and Organic Chemistry Tutor, New College


  • Dr Emine Çakir Instructor in Turkish, Oriental Institute
  • Dr Nadia Jamil Senior Instructor in Classical and Modern Standard Arabic, Oriental Institute, St Benet’s Hall and St Peter’s college
  • Dr Ruth Percy Tutor and Lecturer in Modern British History, St Hilda’s College
  • Dr Thomas Sinclair Tutorial Fellow in Philosophy, Wadham College
  • Dr Sebastian Wedler Lecturer, Tutor and  Junior Research Fellow, St. Hilda’s College and Faculty of Music

There were a record number of nominations this year, each of a very high standard. Thank you to our student and staff panelists for all the handwork that went into selecting this shortlist. We sincerely appreciate the efforts of each member of staff recognised by your fantastic nominations and will be contacting departmental and college heads to discuss further celebration of the achievements of all nominees. Thank you to all nominated for the enormous improvements you have made to the Oxford student experience.

We have emailed each shortlisted individual, inviting them to attend the awards ceremony on 11 May 2017 from 6.30pm at Oxford Town Hall, where the winner of the Outstanding Tutor Award will be announced. There will be a winner in each division above.

If you are a student, and would like to attend the awards ceremony, please get in contact with us: aro@ousu.ox.ac.uk